Walking pad vs treadmill compared: speed, incline, deck size, weight limit, size and price for four example models (maker-stated, checked October 6, 2026), plus safety checks.
Key takeaways
- The two walking pads checked top out at 4 mph with no incline; the two treadmills reach 12 mph with up to 15% incline and a 20 x 60 in deck.[3]
- Treadmill-desk walking at 1 to 2 mph is rated 2.8 METs, a brisk 3.5 to 3.9 mph treadmill walk 4.8 and a 6 to 10% hill walk 7.0.[5]
- In April 2026 the CPSC told consumers to stop using certain Sperax walking pads after 201 reports of speed failures and 573 thermal incidents.[6]
- The ASTM F2115 treadmill standard covers stability, handrails or foot rails, a stop switch and rear-roller guarding for users aged 13 and over.[9]
In short: A walking pad is a small, low, usually handrail-free belt for slow walking (most top out around 4 mph) that slides under a sofa or desk and costs about $170 to $600. A full treadmill is bigger, heavier and pricier (about $1,100 for the mid-range models we checked) but adds running speeds up to 12 mph, incline, a longer and wider deck, handrails and a higher weight limit. Pick by what you will actually do: walk while you work, or train with brisk walks, hills and runs.
This page compares the two using maker-stated specs for four representative models, checked on October 6, 2026, plus safety records from the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). If you have already decided on a walking pad, our walking pad buying guide explains the features in depth and our list of the best walking pads names ten researched picks. We research; we don’t test, and we have not used these machines ourselves.
The two in one minute
| Walking pad | Treadmill | |
|---|---|---|
| Typical top speed | About 4 mph (some have a running mode) | Up to 12 mph |
| Incline | Usually none; some budget models add it | Usually 0 to 15% |
| Walking surface | About 35 to 47 in long, 15 to 16 in wide | About 60 in long, 20 in wide |
| Max user weight | 220 and 265 lb on the two we checked | 325 lb on the two we checked |
| Handrails and console | Usually none; remote or app | Handrails, console, safety key |
| Size and weight | About 4 to 6 in high; 37 lb (UREVO E1L); slides under furniture | About 52 to 67 in high; 187 to 277 lb; some fold upright |
| Price checked | $170 to $599 | $1,099 to $2,100 |
Four models side by side
To keep the comparison concrete, we picked two popular walking pads and two mid-range home treadmills and read their specs on each maker’s own page. These are examples to show the differences, not a ranking.
| Maker-stated spec | UREVO SpaceWalk E1L (pad) | WalkingPad C2 (pad) | SOLE F63 (treadmill) | Horizon 7.0 AT (treadmill) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Speed | 0.6 to 4.0 mph | 1 to 4 mph | 0.5 to 12 mph | 0.5 to 12 mph |
| Incline | None | None | 15 levels | 0 to 15% |
| Walking or running area | 35.4 x 15 in | 47.2 x 15.7 in | 20 x 60 in | 20 x 60 in |
| Max user weight | 265 lb | 220 lb | 325 lb | 325 lb |
| Motor | 2.5 HP | 3 HP brushless | 3.0 HP brushless | Not stated as HP (RapidSync drive) |
| Size | 42.1 x 19.3 x 4.2 in; 36.6 lb | Folds in half; 5.3 in high | 75 x 34 x 52 in; 187 lb | 76 x 35 x 67 in; 277 lb; folds to 44 in long |
| Warranty | 1 year + 180 days | 1 year | Lifetime frame and motor; 2 years deck, electronics, parts; 1 year labor | Lifetime frame and motor; 3 years parts; 1 year labor |
| Returns | 14 days | 30 days | Not stated on the product page | 30-day guarantee |
| Price checked | $170 to $190 | $429 to $599 | $1,100 to $1,200 | $1,099 to $2,100 |
| Item | Top speed (mph) | Belt length (ft) |
|---|---|---|
| UREVO SpaceWalk E1L | 4 | 3 |
| WalkingPad C2 | 4 | 3.9 |
| SOLE F63 | 12 | 5 |
| Horizon 7.0 AT | 12 | 5 |
Belt lengths 35.4, 47.2, 60 and 60 inches, shown in feet (rounded) so both measures fit one scale.
Source: Maker product pages (UREVO, WalkingPad, SOLE, Horizon Fitness) (checked on October 6, 2026)
What each does for weight loss
Speed and incline set how hard a walk is, and that is where the two differ most. The 2024 Adult Compendium of Physical Activities rates walking at a treadmill desk at 1 to 2 mph at 2.8 METs, nearly three times sitting quietly (1.0 MET). A brisk 3.5 to 3.9 mph treadmill walk is 4.8 METs, and 4.0 to 4.4 mph is 5.8. Walking up a 6 to 10% grade is 7.0 METs, and running at 6 mph is 9.3. A walking pad covers the first few steps on that ladder; a treadmill covers all of them.
For a 150-pound person, an hour of desk walking at 1 to 2 mph uses about 190 calories against about 68 sitting, so an extra 120 or so. An hour of brisk treadmill walking at 3.5 to 3.9 mph uses about 327, and a 30-minute 6 mph run about 316. The real advantage of a walking pad is volume: it turns hours of sitting into light movement without needing extra time. A treadmill’s advantage is intensity. Our calories burned calculator works out your own numbers, and our guide to walking for weight loss covers pace and step goals.
Belt length, stride and comfort
Belt length matters more than most buyers expect. The UREVO E1L’s 35.4-inch belt suits short, slow steps at a desk; the WalkingPad C2’s 47.2 inches gives more room for a normal stride; the 60-inch decks on the two treadmills leave space for a long walking stride or a run. Width follows the same pattern: about 15 to 16 inches on the pads against 20 inches on the treadmills, which matters if you drift sideways while reading or typing. If you are tall, or you plan to walk faster than about 3 mph, a longer belt is the safer and more comfortable choice.
Cushioning is described differently by every maker (UREVO lists silicone shock absorbers, SOLE an 18 mm cushioned deck, Horizon a 3-zone cushioned deck), and there is no shared test, so treat those claims as features rather than measured differences.
Warranty, delivery and returns: what the price buys
Part of a treadmill’s higher price is a longer promise. Both treadmills we checked state a lifetime warranty on the frame and motor, with 2 years (SOLE) or 3 years (Horizon) on parts and 1 year of labor. The two walking pads state 1 year (WalkingPad) and 1 year plus 180 days (UREVO). Return windows run from 14 days (UREVO) to 30 days (WalkingPad, and Horizon’s 30-day guarantee). Delivery is another difference: walking pads arrive ready to use, while SOLE lists curbside delivery at $49.99 and room delivery, with or without assembly, for $200 to $350 more. Before you buy either, check who pays return shipping on a machine that can weigh close to 300 pounds.
Safety: what to check on either machine
Both are motorized belts, and both carry risks. In April 2026, the CPSC told consumers to stop using certain Sperax walking pads and treadmills immediately after reports of sudden speed changes, abrupt stops, falls and fires; the importer had not agreed to an acceptable recall. In 2021, Peloton recalled about 125,000 Tread+ treadmills after a 6-year-old child died and dozens of people, children, pets and objects were pulled under the rear of the machine.
Two belt-machine safety cases
- 201Sperax reports of uncontrollable speed or abrupt stops, with at least 66 falls or injuriesCPSC, April 2026
- 573Sperax reports of overheating, fires and other thermal incidentsCPSC, April 2026
- 125,000Peloton Tread+ treadmills recalled after a child's death and 72 pull-under incidentsCPSC, May 2021
Checked on October 6, 2026
We searched cpsc.gov on October 6, 2026 for the four makers named on this page. We found no recall or warning for the four models above. Horizon Fitness did recall a different model, the T101-05 folding treadmill, in October 2022 (about 192,000 units) after at least 874 reports of unexpected speed changes or stops and 71 injuries; the remedy was a free software repair. We found no recalls for UREVO, WalkingPad or SOLE. The industry standard for treadmills, ASTM F2115 (updated in 2025), covers motorized and user-powered treadmills for users aged 13 and over, including stability, handrails or foot rails for getting on and off, a stop switch that slows and stops the belt, guarding of the rear roller against finger entrapment, and warnings. Treadmills designed for running usually have handrails and a safety key; many walking pads have neither, which makes balance and attention more important.
Safety checks for a walking pad or treadmill
- Search the modelLook up the exact model on cpsc.gov before buying and from time to time afterward.
- Check the weight limitChoose a maker-stated maximum user weight comfortably above your own.
- Keep kids and pets awayThe CPSC advises keeping children and pets away, unplugging after use and storing the safety key out of reach.
- Leave clear spaceLeave room behind the belt and follow the maker's instructions on outlets and cords.
- Stop if it misbehavesStop using any machine that changes speed by itself, overheats or smells of burning.
What people weigh up
There is no single right answer; these are the trade-offs buyers usually think through.
A walking pad tends to suit people who
- want to walk slowly while working at a standing desk or watching TV;
- have a small home and need to slide the machine under a bed or sofa;
- are starting from a mostly seated day and want light, frequent movement;
- have a budget under about $600.
A treadmill tends to suit people who
- want brisk walks, hill walks or runs indoors, at any time of year;
- are taller or take long strides and want a 60-inch deck;
- feel steadier with handrails, or need a higher weight limit;
- have a permanent spot for a machine of about 75 x 35 inches and can move or assemble a 190 to 280 lb machine.
Some people end up with both habits: a walking pad for the workday and outdoor walks or hills for harder sessions. A weighted vest is another way to make walks harder without a treadmill, and our walking vs running comparison explains what the extra speed buys. If your joints don’t like running, see our list of low-impact workouts.
What neither can do
Neither machine does the work for you, and slow desk walking is light activity: it breaks up sitting but won’t replace brisk walks or other moderate exercise. The Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans recommend 150 to 300 minutes of moderate activity a week plus muscle strengthening on at least 2 days, and most weight loss still comes from a modest calorie deficit. Add some strength training to protect muscle, and track the trend with a step counter from our fitness trackers list. Our gear hub lists the other home equipment we cover, and the TDEE calculator shows how daily movement changes your energy needs. More side-by-side pages are in our comparisons hub.
Whichever you choose, the machine that gets used is the one that pays off. Daily movement is one of the habits covered in our guide to maintaining weight loss, our exercise hub has other ways to move, and Find My Options helps you see which weight-loss approaches fit your situation.
Related guides
Walking Pads: how to choose one (and use it for weight loss)How to choose a walking pad: speed, belt size, motor, noise, weight limit and safety, types…
Weight-Loss Gear: researched picks for scales, walking pads and shapewearWeight-loss gear guides: scales, walking pads, fitness trackers, strength equipment, shapewear and kitchen basics, with how…
Alternate-Day Fasting vs 16:8 vs 5:2: Fasting Methods ComparedTypes of intermittent fasting compared: 16:8, 5:2 and alternate-day fasting, what a week looks like on…
Cardio vs Strength Training for Weight Loss: What the Trials FoundCardio vs strength training for weight loss: what the STRRIDE AT/RT and LITOE trials found about…Tools for this topic
Calories Burned Calculator for 100+ activitiesFree calories burned calculator for 100+ activities using 2024 Compendium MET values, with examples, walking pad…
TDEE and Maintenance Calories CalculatorFree TDEE calculator: estimate your total daily energy expenditure and maintenance calories, learn TDEE vs BMR…Latest research
The 10,000 Steps Myth: How Many Steps You Really NeedWhere the 10,000 steps goal came from and what the big studies found: most of the…
Brown Fat, Cold Plunges and Saunas: Do They Help Weight Loss?Do cold plunges, brown fat and saunas help weight loss? What human studies show: brown fat…
10 Best Exercises for Adults Over 50 Losing WeightThe 10 best exercises for adults over 50 losing weight, ranked by energy cost (adult and…Questions to ask a professional
- Is walking on a moving belt without handrails safe for my balance?
- How much walking a day is a sensible starting point for me?
- Is running or incline walking safe for my joints and heart?
Frequently asked questions
Is a walking pad as good as a treadmill for weight loss?
For slow walking during the day, yes; for brisk walks, hills or runs, no. Most walking pads top out near 4 mph without incline, while treadmills reach 12 mph and 15% incline, which can roughly double or triple the effort.
Can you run on a walking pad?
Most walking pads are built for walking up to about 4 mph. A few have a running mode, but for regular running a full treadmill with a longer deck and handrails is the better tool.
How much space does a treadmill need compared with a walking pad?
The two treadmills we checked measure about 75 x 35 inches and weigh 187 to 277 lb. The UREVO E1L walking pad is 42 x 19 inches, 4.2 inches high and 37 lb, so it slides under furniture.
Are walking pads safe?
Most are, but check the exact model on cpsc.gov: in April 2026 the CPSC warned consumers to stop using certain Sperax walking pads. Keep children and pets away, unplug it after use and stay within the weight limit.
How many calories does walking on a walking pad burn?
Treadmill-desk walking at 1 to 2 mph is rated 2.8 METs: about 190 calories an hour for a 150-pound person, roughly 120 more than sitting. Faster walking burns more.
References
- UREVO SpaceWalk E1L Smart Walking Pad (product page). UREVO. (accessed October 6, 2026) Other
- WalkingPad C2 Foldable Walking Treadmill (product page). WalkingPad (KingSmith). (accessed October 6, 2026) Other
- SOLE F63 Treadmill (product page). SOLE Fitness. (accessed October 6, 2026) Other
- Horizon 7.0 AT Treadmill (product page). Horizon Fitness. (accessed October 6, 2026) Other
- 2024 Adult Compendium (activity lists and PDF). Compendium of Physical Activities, 2024. (accessed October 7, 2026) Other
- CPSC Warns Consumers to Stop Using Sperax Walking Pads and Treadmills Immediately Due to Risk of Serious Injury from Fall, Burn and Fire Hazards. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, 2026. (accessed October 6, 2026) Government page
- Peloton Recalls Tread+ Treadmills After One Child Died and More than 70 Incidents Reported. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, 2021. (accessed October 6, 2026) Government page
- Johnson Health Tech Trading Recalls Horizon Fitness Treadmills Due to Fall Hazard. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, 2022. (accessed October 6, 2026) Government page
- ASTM F2115-25 Standard Specification for Treadmills. ASTM International, 2025. (accessed October 6, 2026) Other
- Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, 2nd edition: top 10 things to know. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (ODPHP). (accessed October 7, 2026) Guideline
Facts checked on October 6, 2026
Educational information, not medical advice. Talk with a qualified healthcare professional about your own situation. In an emergency call 911.
